Kerala polls: 18 CPM MLAs & 5 ministers won’t be fielded

3 months ago 9



committee has upheld the state secretariat’s decision that no one who has completed two consecutive assembly terms be given a seat again. This means that 23 sitting MLAs will not be able to contest. Kerala will vote in a single round on April 6.
The committee has given approval for a probable candidate list that features wives of minister A K Balan and LDF convenor and


acting secretary

A Vijayaraghavan

Ministers T M Thomas Isaac, E P Jayrajan, A K Balan, G Sudhakaran, and C Raveendranath did not feature in the list. The son-in-law of CM Pinarayi Vijayan and DYFI member Muhammad Riyas will contest from Beypore.
However, the committee has decided to send the lists to the respective district panels for approval. It will then come back to the state secretariat for final approval. After the politburo meeting, CPM is likely to declare the candidates officially on March 11.

Read Entire Article